Happy New Year!

As I described in my Suite 101 Blog this week, my New Year’s Resolutions this year reflect a need for grounding, and room to grow and change.

Most of the goals I’ve set are to support all of the changes that are going on in my professional life. My last day of work for AT&T will be January 11th. It’s terrifying and wonderful at the same time. A little like falling in love with Brett had been (which is part of the reason why I know this is right). I know I’m taking a huge leap of faith, so I’m making sure I’ve got the internal support I’ll need to keep leaping.

I’ve reviewed my short and long term goals, and my mission statement, and I’ve set myself up with the shortest list of resolutions I’ve ever done:

  • Permission Slips (to release the “shoulds”)
  • Daily Writing Practice – journaling and additional work
  • Daily Yoga Practice
  • Finish RYT Training
  • Going on Adventures
  • Finish the “Walking in this World” 12-week process (see subsequent blog entry on Artist Dates)
  • Regularly scheduled Solitude
  • Bike a Century
  • Purging the house of excess clutter
  • 101 articles on Suite 101

The basic reason behind such a short list, behind the support for change without the definition of the plans to change is because of the Defining Quote I used at the top of my page this year:

“We must be willing to get rid of the life we’ve planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us.” – Joseph Campbell

New Year’s Resolutions don’t have to be set in stone.

I prefer mine to be a little more like clay.

One thought on “Happy New Year!

  1. Pingback: Wrapping up 2008 « A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

What do you think?

