Gearing up for November….

No, not for the election, silly! I’m getting ready for NaNoWriMo!

Come November you will be able to watch my word-count progress, and read the occasional excerpt on the profile page I’ve just created as “The_LiLi_Effect“… I know, I really stretched the old imagination on my username, didn’t I? šŸ˜‰

This is one of the sub-points on the “writing practice” resolution among my 2008 goals.

Now I bet you’re wondering “What the heck is NaNoWriMo?!”

  • The Rules: I will have from 11/1/08 until 11/30/08 to write a 50,000 word novel.
  • The Reasoning: I’m more likely to complete a big writing project if given a hard timeframe (November), and a clear, measurable goal (50K words) and the support of a strange and fun community of a bunch of other crazy people doing the same thing at the same time.
  • The Reward: The basic MO for NaNoWriMo is to hammer out as much of a rough, rough, rough first draft as humanly possible within this set period of time. At the end of it, I will have pages upon pages of raw material…. This is the “don’t pause to edit! Just WRITE!” sort of exercise that frees the mind and cramps the fingers.

I tried NaNo for the first time in 2005, and I now have about 50 pages of my Lorne project that I still fiddle with occasionally. When I sit down and read it, I’m sometimes shocked to notice how doggone good parts of it really are. Of course, the vast majority of it is completely awful, but there is also some wordgold yet to be smithed.

This year’s project is already in the planning stages. I’ve been focusing on writing short stories lately. This series of stories covers a 10-15 year span leading up to the situation of my novel. This means I’ve got piles of notes, names and historical information!

My plan is to have that backstory done, and those notes organized and available for quick and easy access so when I’m in the thick of novel-writing frenzy in November, I won’t have to pause for anything as mundane as the timeline or character names.

What do you think?

