2010 New Year’s Resolutions

“The Universe won’t get you where you want to go unless you are heading in that direction on your own.” – Alicia King

“Your life will be no better than the plans you make and the action you take. You are the architect and builder of your own life, fortune, destiny.” —Alfred A. Montapert

As I tried to draft this I realized that so many areas of my life are humming right along. I don’t have any bad habits I need to break, I have a few good habits I want to instill, but otherwise, I’m pretty happy with the direction I’m headed. Notice I don’t say I’m happy with where I am. I don’t think I need to say that we are always moving forward, always growing and changing.

I want this process to be intentional, but still fluid – a roadmap that not only permits but inspires and encourages detours.

The overall pattern I see emerging here is the desire to tune into my true needs.

My body wants to eat healthily, exercise and exist at a healthy weight. I just need to tune in to get there.

My spirit wants me to create and play, I just need to take the time and listen.

My long-term professional goals require me to build a solid financial foundation now. My financial goals require the same thing.

Because of this, I will be letting go of a lot of unnecessary “wants” and “oughts” and only dealing with “needs” for the year.

Health

  • Record everything I eat to ensure proper nutrition
  • Try to get all of my nutrients from whole foods instead of supplements
  • Exercise 300 minutes per week
  • Ride my first Century!

Creativity

  • Daily morning pages and Weekly Artist Dates. Mandatory.
  • Weekly ruminative activities – walks, gardening, solitude

Professional & Financial

  • Publish 200 total articles on Suite 101 by end of 2010 (86 more to go!)
  • Aggressively pay off Credit Card
  • Continue to build portfolio

What I found was that most of my lengthy original list was really a to-do list rather than actual goals. I wrote a Suite 101 Article on my New Year’s Resolution setting process, though, in case you’re interested!

One thought on “2010 New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pingback: 2010 Accomplishments « A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

What do you think?

