Corporate America Advice!

I wrote a new Suite 101 article today (that’s 3 for 3 this week! and only 5 more to go to catch up!) and this one is on using meetings as opportunities.

Of course, because the article is all third-person, I couldn’t give my personal background in writing this article.

I went to Sweet Briar College, and when I attended the Student to Faculty ratio was 8:1. We had classes that were basically the same as corporate meetings, conference tables and all. I definitely picked up some meeting survival skills along the way. Those parlayed very well into the corporate environment. Especially the lessons of “don’t talk just to fill a void”!

When I worked at BellSouth, a mentor explained the whole political side of it – particularly those decisions by committee that I wasn’t privy to – and how to use meetings to gain supporters on that committee.

What do you think?

