When am I Still?

Today’s Trust30 prompt is going to end up being a 2-part blog post, one for the question (today) and one for the answers (in 48 hours).

Identify one of your biggest challenges at the moment (ie I don’t feel passionate about my work) and turn it into a question (ie How can I do work I’m passionate about?) Write it on a post-it and put it up on your bathroom mirror or the back of your front door. After 48-hours, journal what answers came up for you and be sure to evaluate them.

So, I’ve done part one – the Post It (see photo).
The challenge this post it addresses?
I’ve got a lot of HUGE things going on in my life right now. Big goals, big dreams, big ideas. I’m racing, training, writing, wedding planning, working, creating, and planning a big hiking trip. Part of the fun is throwing myself headlong in the direction of these dreams.
Thus I hit upon this question, this challenge – when do I sit back and let it soak in?
I learned in Savasana in yoga class that the body needs to be still and relax consciously in order to integrate everything it has learned. That the mind needs to let go in order to make new connections.
An essential part of creativity is stillness.
Frankly, I like myself better when I’m a human being, not a human doing.
I’m going to stick this note in the back of my mind, assign my subconscious the work of answering the question, and will revisit it on Sunday morning.
One thought on “When am I Still?

  1. Pingback: Stillness, revisited « A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

What do you think?

