Only one?

Today’s prompt: Not everyone wants to travel the world, but most people can identify at least one place in the world they’d like to visit before they die. Where is that place for you, and what will you do to make sure you get there?

I don’t have just one place. I don’t have just a handful. I have dozens. Boatloads. Shipyards full of places that I want to see. Must I see all of them? Any of them? Of course not. But I will happily forgo luxury to be able to make more than a few of these happen.

First priority: visit places where I speak the languages. I didn’t double major in International Affairs and Modern Languages to sit around in the USA. I speak English (duh), Spanish, French and German. So that list includes (but is not limited to):

  • the 24 or so US States I haven’t visited yet
  • Vancouver
  • The British Isles
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Spain
  • Mexico
  • Argentina
  • Peru
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • France
  • Belgium
  • Morocco
  • Montreal
  • Ivory Coast
  • Germany (I’ve visited, but would love to return)
  • Switzerland
  • South Africa (I don’t speak Afrikaans, but my German is good enough to fake it, and most folks in SA speak English)

Second Priority: The “Must see” lists. Places where I don’t speak the language, but I will learn it to be able to travel there! Or I’ll just be a clueless tourist. You may call me Twoflower.

  • Greece
  • Turkey
  • Egypt
  • Moscow
  • St Petersburg
  • Japan
  • Nepal
  • Tibet

There are other places as well, but this is enough of the list to get a conversation started, right? I’ve visited a number of places that I’d happily return to, so if you see any glaring omissions from this list please consider that a possibility.

We are going to have “honeymoon registry” instead of a traditional wedding registry for the wedding to facilitate the next international adventure. Brett and I are planning a trip to Greece (and possibly Turkey) for our honeymoon.

After that, travel will continue to be piled into the “save up for” plans just like everything else.

One thought on “Only one?

What do you think?

