Easy peasy – Authenticity

“Imitation is Suicide. Insist on yourself; never imitate.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Today’s PromptWrite down in which areas of your life you have to overcome these suicidal tendencies of imitation, and how you can transform them into a newborn you – one that doesn’t hide its uniqueness, but thrives on it. There is a “divine idea which each of us represents” – which is yours?

Again, I am a day ahead of the curve on this one! Yesterday, I wrote about the freeing notion of all of us being unique up close and the same en masse.

I wrote about the idea that we only have to be authentic to add a unique voice, rather than concern ourselves with writing something new, creating something completely different. Authenticity is what will make it bold, innovative and inspired. Not forced brashness or a muse tortured into providing NEW inspiration.

Come on, we are all tapping into the collective unconscious. The only true originality comes with how we, as individuals, filter that collective archetype through our personal experience and viewpoints.

So, my answer to this prompt – the ways I avoid or overcome imitation – is simple. I am true to myself. I trust my deepest inner voice, and I strive to be authentically me in everything.
It has been my personal goal for a while to be enough in the moment, enough self-aware, honest and authentic enough that I’m able to do that all of the time. Now, that’s a stretch goal, because most of us float around on auto-pilot a good bit. I can’t say that I’ve met that goal, but I still strive for it.

I do tend to write more authentically than I speak. I know this. Part of this is because it’s a slower medium. I feel pressured to respond quickly, and it’s not always 100% authentic because I am not able to think about it, unable to edit a few moments later when I really have a chance to process the whole idea. This is why I’m more comfortable and chatty via email, Facebook, and blogging. (This is the mark of an introvert!)

What do you think?

