Fear schmear

Today’s prompt: Is fear holding you back from living your fullest life and being truly self expressed?

Sometimes, these challenges make me feel like they are for someone unlike me. When I see fear going on in my world, I face it. Head on. It might take a minute to work up my courage to do that. But even if I run off and journal, the very next night, I’m facing my fears.

This week, I realized I was afraid to read my comments from the friends and family I had asked to read my novel draft. I realized this when it occurred to me that I was stalled on the project, and something inside me must be holding me back. I sat with that, I journalled about it, because that’s the easiest way for me to work through any big emotion, and the next night I started going through them.

Some were daunting. Mark-ups of 7,000 changes and edits (apparently, I need to review my style book on capitalization of dialogue tags). A few were insufficient (One of my readers had a completely novel approach to his edits, but he only gave me one chapter’s worth. I called him to beg for more!) None frightened me once I read them. I didn’t cry. I wasn’t crushed. Some of them kick-started my brain, making my creativity start in on what I should do with the rewrites.

How else do I face fear head on?

  • Fear of heights: skydiving
  • Fear of needles: tattoo
  • Fear of success: succeed
  • Fear of rejection: get rejected

… this list has taken an obvious turn. Okay, there’s more to this prompt. Let’s see if any of it applies to me, shall we?

Is the insecurity you’re defending worth the dream you’ll never realize? or the love you’ll never venture? or the joy you’ll never feel?

Dreams, love, joy. Check, check, check.

Will the blunder matter in 10 years? Or 10 weeks? Or 10 days? Or 10 minutes?

Not usually. I journal about anything that might have repercussions, or that takes a little more thought to decide anyway.

Can you be happy being anything less than who you really are?

Nope. I learned that years ago.

There’s a book called “Feel the Fear and do it Anyway” or something like that. I’ve never read it, but I really like the title.

What do you think?

