Napping Before the Sphinx

Today’s prompt: Think of a time when you didn’t think you were capable of doing something, but then surprised yourself. How will you surprise yourself this week?

It takes a lot to surprise me, particularly when it comes to my own abilities. I’m one of those over-achieving perfectionists who think anything is possible if I put in enough time, enough sweat, enough tears. Usually, I’m right.

I tend to think my way around problems. I mull them over and come at them sideways, exploring as I circle them. Sometimes I discover that from the other direction, they aren’t problems at all. Sometimes, I find a weakness I can exploit. More often than not, I will pose big questions to myself, and then go to bed. My subconscious is great at solving conundrums.

After that good night’s sleep, I generally know the answer. I know my next step. I know what I need to find out, or what I need to do first. Then I do it. Then things unfold. This is not surprising after the first few times it works, and I’ve been doing this for years.

Highly unlikely I’ll be surprising myself this week. I know I’ll work out 6 days, I’ll come up with some great answers to the questions I’m asking about my story revisions, and I’ll kick butt at work. These are my expectations.

What do you think?

