One thing to accomplish? Ha!

Today’s prompt: Take a moment, step back from your concerns, and focus on one thing: You have one life to achieve everything you’ve ever wanted. … Write down one thing you’ve always wanted to do and how you will achieve that goal. Don’t be afraid to be very specific in how you’ll achieve it….

Trust30 has gone back to the 101 level courses again, I see. One thing to accomplish? Just one? I like my big goals I set out yesterday, in terms of how I’d like to live my life.

Overall, I’ve got three really big things cooking right now: wedding planning, training & weight loss, and writing my book.

Wedding planning is about to get put on a back burner to simmer for a while. After this next payday, I’m making a deposit on the venue, which will lock in the date. I’ve selected the palette and have a few other things in the works. Up next, I’ve got to start dress shopping, and then to hammer out the guest list and figure out stationary designs for November 1st shipment of save the date cards.

Overall, I will be able to do these things in dribs and drabs because I’ve got a lot of time. I can do them as they come up, and not all at once. So I’m not too stressed about it. I’ve just got to keep it top of mind.

Training and weight loss, I’ve been working steadily on for three years, and I’m not going to stop now. I’ve got a trainer, I’ve got races, I’ve got goals. I’m actually losing (so far 8 lbs since starting with the trainer in Mid-May). I intend to PR progressively at each of my races this season – so far so good.

Last, but not least, my book. This is the one I need to get specific about.

Right now, I’m back in rewrite mode. And just like the second rewrite, this is going to be a “closed door” stage of production – where I more or less stop talking about the plot. I stop taking feedback, and I hunker down and write. This is also when the house gets messy and I forget my lunch because all I can think about is the book.

This time through, I’m also applying rigorous research. Until now, I haven’t spent a whole lot of time hitting books because research can be a black hole that sucks a writer in and kills a story. This time, I know what I need to know, and where I can spend an hour researching exactly what I’m looking for rather than 10 hours flailing around looking for ideas.

To get specific, here’s the plan:

  1. Rewrite – daily goal 1500-1700 words, weekly goal 10K words minimum
  2. Complete research, flesh out specific details with facts.
  3. Rough sketch the series outline to be able to foreshadow events in subsequent books
  4. Rewrite draft completion. Goal is September 1, 2011
  5. Rigorous scene revision pass-through. Goal is September 19, 2011
  6. Send to primary readers (there are 3 of these people, and they have already been chosen, so don’t ask)
  7. With primary reader comments, perform final end-to-end revision. Goal for completion of this process is December 31, 2011. (The reason this is so far out is to give my readers time to do their stuff, and me time to respond to their comments. There are also the holidays to consider.)
  8. Next is to send out to my expert readers. Some of these are sci-fi readers extraordinaire. Some of them are experts in the fields I am writing about to check my research and specifics. Because these are very busy people, I’m giving them a while (3 months) to respond. (Again, this is a pre-selected list.)
  9. Meanwhile, back at the hacienda, I’ll be writing, revising and shipping out for queries my short stories and other pieces to try to gain publication credits.
  10. April 1, 2012 is the deadline for expert readers, I will take their comments and complete a final pass-through revision at this point.
  11. My goal is to start shopping this via queries to agents by May 1, 2012.
  12. While I’m shopping, I’ll start to write the draft of the sequel.

Yes, that means I won’t be finished with this first one for almost a whole year. But I do have a full-time job, a wedding to plan, Nationals to race and Guilder to frame for it. I’m swamped!

What do you think?

