Playing catch-up

Okay – I’ve been bad about the Trust30 because they are getting really redundant and asking me the same questions over and over again.

Here are my impatient and glib answers to Friday’s, Saturday’s, Sunday’s and today’s prompts:

Friday’s prompt: Write down your top three dreams. Now write down what’s holding you back from them.

I suppose I shouldn’t have actually answered any of the previous questions, since this one was going to be so deep and enlightening.

Eyeroll.

My overarching goals are wellness and balance.

I think we all strive for wellness, in its various forms: physical, mental, emotional, spiritual, intellectual, occupational, financial, creative, social, romantic. I think that striking a balance among them is an important part of living a fulfilled and happy life. And all of my dreams are about this balance… in the long run.

Saturday’s prompt: Trusting intuition and making decisions based on it is the most important activity of the creative artist and entrepreneur. If you are facing (and fearing) a difficult life decision, ask yourself these three questions: 1) “What are the costs of inaction?” 2) “What kind of person do I want to be?” 3) “In the event of failure, could I generate an alternative positive outcome?

These aren’t the questions I ask myself when I sit down with my journal and a juicy choice. Not remotely. Usually I start with one big question and use my answers to winnow my way down into the real action, choice or sticking point. Each question rolls into the next, it’s natural and fluid. I might ask myself two questions and reach the end of the process, or I might have to journal for three hours until I ferret out the real question.

Here is a random sampling of some of the questions I ask myself (please note, I’m rather brutal with me):
• What’s the big deal?
• Why is this even a question?
• What are you afraid of?
• What is the worst that could happen? Could you live with that?
I also add a lot of “Yeah, and?” and “So what?” sprinkled in there.

Sunday’s prompt: I once received a fortune cookie that read: “Speak less of your plans, you’ll get more done.” What’s one project that you’ve been sitting on and thinking about but haven’t made progress on? What’s stopping you? What would happen if you actually went for it and did it?

This prompt bugs the heck out of me. Why is this writer encouraging us to expound on plans we’re not moving forward with when the actual urge in her fortune cookie quote is to stop expounding and get on with it already?

Brett won’t let me talk with him about the plot of my book, because it uses up the vital energy that I need to sit down and write it, and then I don’t write. He’s right. So’s the fortune cookie.

Today’s prompt: Without even knowing it, you can begin to believe someone knows better than you how to live your life. Someone might know a particular something better … but nobody else on the planet knows how to live your life better than you. For today, trying asking yourself often, especially before you make a choice, “What do I know about this?”

I have no idea what I’m supposed to write or blog about in response to this. But I’ll think about it.

What do you think?

