Gratitude


Today is Thanksgiving, which is one of my favorite American holidays. I like it not so much because of turkey and gravy and cranberries, but because I’m a sucker for gratitude. Even though wreaking gravy-lava havoc on mashed potato mountain is pretty awesome, I’m a sap when it comes to listing out the stuff we’re grateful for and thanking ourselves, our families, the cosmos, the Universe or God (whatever flips your lid, man) for those things we’re grateful about.

So, in the spirit of the day, I’m going to list my gratitude stuff here – my apologies up front if it gets a little sappy.

If I just free-associate I come up with a pretty crazy good list: Brett, Ethan, family, friends, everyone’s health, the pets, financial stability, mental stability, the time and space to play creatively, security of having a roof over my head and high-speed internet.

I’m grateful that all of my problems are first world ones, problems that in the grand scheme of things are not problems at all, but ordinary “lumps” that happen with living – as Wollman and Fulghum remind me. I’m grateful that most of these lumps are really just choices and neither option is bad or good, just a matter of picking what is right for me in this moment, a choice of what matters most.

I’m grateful for the decisions I’ve made and the bridges I’ve crossed, I’m grateful for the lessons I’ve learned, because these things make my life what it is now.

2012 shines ahead in the vast unknown with so much hope and promise it is blinding. I’m grateful that I’m able to move toward it confidently, and that I’ve got the right people beside me as we take that next step forward.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude

What do you think?

