Reasons vs. Excuses


A reason is a “a statement presented in justification or explanation of a belief or action.” An excuse is meant “to serve as an apology or justification for” something.

A bum knee, a torn ligament, a broken toe. These are reasons.

I didn’t want to get up, I don’t have gym access, I’m too stressed to exercise, and I don’t have time are excuses.

Running and walking only require shoes (and maybe a jacket). No equipment, no membership fees. Yes, you can get fancy and wear $100 shoes, technical wicking clothes and a heart rate monitor. But it’s not required.

I get my coach’s plan for the coming week on Sunday, and I figure out right then how and when I’m going to fit my training into my days. Yes, I can admit it, I’m kind of a freak. I have 2 gym memberships, plus I like to run and bike at home. So I have even fewer excuses than most.

This morning, Brett woke me up an hour earlier than usual because he’d had a rough night at work and 4 AM is about the only time we get to talk. I was exhausted, and did NOT want to get out of my warm snuggly bed at 5 just when we’d started to drift back off to sleep.

But I did. And I am stronger for it.

Do you have reasons? Or excuses?

What do you think?

