My Proust Questionnaire

I’ve been building suspense in daily conversation. This is a sign that I need to write. But I’ve been feeling overwhelmed and overdone lately, so I think I’m going to do a fake, cheater thing to get myself started. I’m going to take a Proust Questionnaire, and we’ll see where I end up going once that’s over.

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
Sitting on the front porch with a mug of hot tea watching a thunderstorm rage all around me.  I don’t believe there could be “perfect happiness” without discomfort, pain or sorrow.  At least in this moment, the storm can rage in contrast to my bliss.

What is your greatest fear?
To be not good enough

Which historical figure do you most identify with?
The ones that spring to mind are Amelia Earhart and Eleanor Roosevelt, Marie Curie and Louisa May Alcott.  A little daring, compassion, courage, and the willingness to write and explore.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Disrespect

What is your greatest extravagance?
Solitude

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
Any of them can be taken to extremes

Which living person do you most despise?
I don’t focus on things I dislike enough to be able to answer that question

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
Adverbs. I’m still trying to limit my verbal patter – like, totally and stuff.

What is your greatest regret?
Staying too long, saying too much

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
I think we humans are infinitely capable of love. Right now, it feels like my fiancé is the one.

When and where were you happiest?
In the here and now

What is your current state of mind?
A little distracted (why must the neighbors listen to music?) and fairly content as long as I don’t look at my huge stack of things to do.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
I’m not quite there yet.

If you could choose what to come back as, what would it be?
A spoiled housecat

What is your most treasured possession?
My grandmother’s Takahashi bluebirds

What do you most value in your friends?
Open-mindedness

Who are your favorite writers?
Brandon Sanderson, Patricia Briggs, Jim Butcher, Guy Gavriel Kay… this is a really long list, do you want me to continue?

Who are your heroes in real life?
Underdogs

How would you like to die?
Quickly

What is your motto?
Underpromise and overdeliver

One thought on “My Proust Questionnaire

  1. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

What do you think?

