On synchronicity, creativity and letting go of the ego

Synchronicity is a Jungian term that refers to a sort of divine coincidence. Those little moments where things just flow into alignment and it seems like the entire universe is sending you the same message.  A lot of different beliefs use the concept of synchronicity.  Without fail, they advise that you pay attention when it happens.

I’m often inspired by synchronicity. If not to write about and explore it, I’m led by it. When two people who don’t know one another post the same link on my Facebook wall, I see a suggestion that I might want to check it out.

Yesterday, I experienced a new sort of synchronicity.

My workplace had a “health fair” that included free meditation classes from the Isha Kriya.  I’m always game for a guided meditation, and I always need a break at work. I signed up.

We meditated on the kriya “I am not this body, I am not even this mind” and floated between the illusion of selfness and our physical “me” space.

This was a very weird way to go back to my cubicle and try to answer emails.

Obviously, it didn’t take long for my ego to reassert itself.

Later that evening, a new Twitter friend, @JamieCatto sent me the link to “1 Giant Leap: What About Me?” – a film about dealing with creative impulses, and letting go of the ego. It spoke a lot about the misery we can create for ourselves within our own ways of thinking.  We can create a mental prison, or we can create mental space.  It’s a rich film.  I bet if you watched it, you’d learn something completely different from it than I did.

What I was reminded was that I might want to stop thinking “What about me?” and start asking “What about you?”

So much of writing is about creating space. There is nothing more terrifying and nothing more inspiring than a blank page, an empty journal, an unread book.

How do you create space?

3 thoughts on “On synchronicity, creativity and letting go of the ego

  1. Pingback: Like is Drawn to Like « A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  2. Pingback: With a Little Help From My Friends | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  3. Pingback: Calling our Teachers | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

What do you think?

