Thank You Notes

How is it possible after getting married to still have a to do list three miles long? I’ve got thank you notes to write, the honeymoon to plan, Greek to learn, and my name to change legally. I’m swamped.

(Sorry, I can’t list off all of the things I need to do without thinking about Prince Humperdinck.)

The thank you notes are the part that I fear the most and love the most, honestly. I’m looking forward to having the chance to sift through the lists of gifts, to sift through my memories of the day and to write personal little notes to each guest.  I fear doing them, because frankly, they are going to take up massive chunks of free time.

I don’t watch TV, and I get four nights out of the week completely to myself after work.  I can’t really complain that I don’t have free time or alone time to write.  However, I do have to manage that time to a certain extent. My thank-you-note time has to cut into my writing time.

Since the wedding, I’ve been tapped out creatively and emotionally. I couldn’t even daydream until almost two weeks after the event.  Now that I’ve read a few really good books (Auralia’s Colors by Jeffrey Overstreet; volume one of Fables) and a few mediocre ones, I feel a little bit better about getting back to work.  But I can’t get back to work, because I’ve got all of this other crazy stuff to do!

Maybe I’ll write thank you notes on Thanksgiving day. That would be appropriate, wouldn’t it?

One thought on “Thank You Notes

  1. Pingback: Grateful for Gratitude « A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

What do you think?

