Works in Progress

Now that I’m married, I am looking at my list of fiction to work on, and I’m a little overwhelmed.  In addition to building my writer platform, keeping up with social media, and working on getting myself positioned the way I want to be online, I also need to keep creating. One finished novel does not an author make.

Here’s the WIP list as of today (going to attempt to put them in priority order):

  • Maaneshin – this is the graphic novel script. I am not sure it’s really the next in terms of priority, but it is what has most recently captured my imagination. I’m daydreaming about this one, so I’m headed in this direction first. It is currently in outline status and “pre-writing”.  Because I need to get this off to the artist for her to start working on in her spare time, I really need to get some of this done.
  • “Crashed” – the Salvaged prequel from Mistral’s POV – it’s currently in timeline / outline status because I need to determine what exactly I need to accomplish in a short story.  I think, honestly, that this one is more important from a business perspective to get written. The problem is that it’s still marinating.
  • Small Gods – quirky, silly romantic high fantasy. I’ve got at least 30K words on this one, but I’m going to have to un-do some of that.  This was supposed to be my wedding gift to my husband, so there’s a bit of personal pressure to finish it.
  • Quarantined – the Salvaged sequel – I’ve got about 1,000 words written, but I need to revisit the outline now that I’ve finished the rewrites.

There are also four additional projects that I need to work on. Two are memoir-ish, so they feel harder to write, in a way. Of those two, one is just between friends, and should only take an evening. The other is a rewrite that I”m about 40K words into.  Of the remaining pieces, one is a collaboration that I’m brainstorming about and waiting on word from other folks. When it comes in, it will likely shoot to the top of the heap.   I’ve also got a decent short story (I’d describe it as a romantic science fantasy)  that with about a week’s worth of attention might be shoppable to magazines.

All in all, I’ve got my work cut out for me.

2 thoughts on “Works in Progress

  1. Pick one.

    Just one. The one you love the most, the one which triggers your sense of beauty, wonder and opportunity. Take one hour every day and write 750 to 1000 words (usually a scene or two). Use Focus booster (a software timer) to track your time, and 750words.com (a website designed to present you with a distraction free writing environment) to keep you honest and track your progress. At the end of the year, if you are putting in just an honest hour a day, you will be done with any of your projects.

    Writing with a family is hard. My son is nine and has autism so he is definitely a high priority, but using 750words, I was able to motivate myself to push on every day. My longest writing streak was 63 days in a row and I have now in a year and a half written over 750,000 words on the service.

    Accountability is a beast. You will swell with pride when you start seeing the volume of work getting done. I know I did.Keep going, you are a good writer (from reading your blog) and have an engaging voice. Your work will be noticed and appreciated in time.

    Good luck.

    • I try to do 30 minutes a day. That comes out to about 1000 words a day. But I like your idea of just focusing on one thing. 🙂 thanks for dropping by.

What do you think?

