Wrapping 2012 (& Tying it with a Bow)

Before I can set new goals for 2013, I need to see how far I’ve come this year.

My single goal for 2012 was “Be here, Now”.  2012 was one of the first years in a long while that I haven’t set a whole list of goals for myself in January.  I knew I had huge things on the calendar for the year ahead, so I didn’t want to distract myself with small detailed things, when I had so many details already afoot.

My prediction about myself about now was: “I’ll be fit, I’ll have nurtured my friendships and connections with family, well-traveled and well-rounded.”  I had assumed this because I couldn’t accomplish all of the things on my calendar without that being true.

In retrospect, I’m not at my optimal fitness level, but I really feel like my connections with family and friends are healthy and alive.  I feel reasonably well-traveled, and very well-rounded.

Here are the highlights among my 2012 achievements:

  • January – We threw Brett’s 40th party (Hooray for friends!)
  • February – Decided not to go to Nationals in April – This was to cut down on stress, it was also to save money toward the wedding in November. I was able to cancel 2 gym memberships, my trainer, and not have to budget for flights and bike shipment.   I’ve determined that “Not this year” does not mean “Never”.
  • February / March – Served as the Maid of Honor in my friend Melody’s wedding. I have a lot of married friends, but this is the first time I’ve held this role. Luckily, she also had a Matron of Honor who was able to take the lead on much of the work, because I was perplexed as to most of it. I’ve attended some weddings, but I’ve only ever been in very small, very casual ones.  This was perhaps one of my bigger “stretches” as a person this year.
  • June – Went to Seattle for work. Fell in love with the city. I can’t wait to go back for a longer stretch of time and take Brett with me!
  • July –  Made new friends.  I love it when happy accidents lead to serendipitous new social circles.
  • July / August –  Hiked on the AT (My current total mileage is 126.3 miles on the Appalachian trail including all of Shenandoah and bits of GA. For perspective, that’s less than 6% of the total length of the trail.)
  • August/ September  – Brett got his paramedic certification. I know this doesn’t seem like I should be listing this under my personal accomplishments. But you try keeping it together while planning a wedding when your fiancé works 80 hour weeks for about a year. It’s not easy.
  • August / November – Saw Bettina (twice). My German sister (she was an exchange student who stayed with us my senior year of high school) and I are awful about keeping in touch. That I got to see her twice this year was huge!
  • October – Finished the novel that took over my brain in 2011 (for the 5th time) and submitted it to Harper Voyager in their open submission window.   This was big.
  • October / November – Created a marketing plan and online platform-building plan for my name as an Author. I’ve taken steps to make it “real” in my mind, and out in the world.
  • November – Got married!   I think the best part of this – aside from the wedded bliss stuff – is that I got to see friends and family that I haven’t seen in years. It was great to reconnect with everyone.

So, I might have used too much tape, but this package is pretty tied up. The rest of the year will be minutiae.  I’ll send out thank you cards, get the ball rolling on my name change, and celebrate Christmas with my now-officially-mine family.

Cheers!

What do you think?

