Projecting 2013 Twitter Growth

My Twitter following over at @A_K_Anderson has gone up 45% from December 5th to December 31st.

If I continue at my current, rather steady growth rate (including losing 2-3 followers for every 5-10 gained when they realize what I actually look like in their Twitter feeds), I estimate the following numbers for 2013:

  • March 31, 2013 – 450 Twitter followers (that means I’ll have to double my current numbers in the next 3 months)
  • June 30, 2013 – 700 Twitter followers
  • September 20, 2013 – 1000 Twitter followers
  • December 31, 2013 – 1200 Twitter followers

Though my more modest goal for 2013 is closer to 600-800 Twitter followers by the end of next year, if I maintain current growth patterns, I should double that amount.

I’m not ready to spill the beans just yet, but I’m taking careful note of where that growth comes from. I’m planning on sharing HOW to create that kind of growth organically (and strategically) in 2013.

You can’t improve what you don’t measure

Before we start working on that though, do you have any notes from 2012 about your Twitter numbers? If not, you should start keeping track for the upcoming year.  Try this:

Weekly:

  • Each week (I do it on Weds) note the date and the number of people you’re following as well as the number following you in a spreadsheet.
  • If the number changed significantly from the week before, go through your “connect” tweets and your feed and see what happened.  Were you retweeted? Did you use a specific hashtag? Did you get into a conversation with someone with a lot of followers? Were you added to a list?   Make note of these things in your spreadsheet as well.
  • Did you do anything on other platforms to promote your Twitter account? (If so, mark that down as well, regardless of whether it worked or not).

Quarterly:

  • Using Excel’s predictive formula to trend your growth, drag your earlier weeks’ growth into the future to see where you might expect to end up at the end of the next three months (this is a linear trendline function, you’ll have to google how to get fancier trends. I generally don’t bother, as I’m just trying to get a general idea.)
  • Run Twitcleaner.   Run it to unfollow accounts. (I don’t take their word for it wholesale, do go through each suggestion or you might unfollow your mom.)  
  • Then run it on your own account.  Take their suggestions to heart – they use known standard best practices for keeping a successful Twitter account going. 
One thought on “Projecting 2013 Twitter Growth

  1. Pingback: Blog Posting Wordpress Projecting 2013 Twitter Growth « Internet Marketing and SEO | Blog Posting Wordpress

What do you think?

