Character development

I took the “Coffee Quiz” on BTW which got me thinking about character development. Then I clicked on the Truth Box on Facebook, which was about feeling all connected to our fellow man. But honestly, that was some serious character-development gold right there.  Those truth box things are writing prompts. They are full character profiles. They are honest, and human, and so full of conflict and pain and wonder.

That might be the shortest, but most complete character development question ever.

  • What everyone thinks is true:
  • What actually is true:

I think about this with my own characters. I think about it for myself.

 

In the Salvaged world, there are several more characters I could go into, but I’ll just touch on the first two.  My next work in that world is Mistral’s prequel (about his “what actually is true” answer).

Careen

  • What everyone thinks is true:  That I’m strong and have it all together
  • What actually is true:  I am afraid of everyone, all of the time. I’m constantly watching for how the next person might hurt me. I wish I could trust someone.

Mistral

  • What everyone thinks is true:  That I’m a self-serving asshole
  • What actually is true:  I lost my kid sister in a Quarantine during the Crash, and it almost killed me. My brother never forgave me for it. I don’t know whether he’s alive or not. I don’t let anyone get close to me after that.

 

The WIP I’ve been working on the most lately is Maaneshin – the graphic novel project. I’ve been enjoying these characters and this world.

Leina

  • What everyone thinks is true:  That I’m a normal young woman
  • What actually is true: I was born during my mother’s transformation, and it made me very, very different.

Enig

  • What everyone thinks is true:  That I’m crazy. That what I want most of all is to die.
  • What actually is true:  I struggle to learn how to deal with the changes within me. What I want most of all is to please my father. I want him to be proud of me.

 

And, since this is my blog, I’m going to try to be brave and wrinkle the persona a little bit.

Me

  • What everyone thinks is true: That I’ve got it all together, that I’m a “rock”.    I’m a responsible professional, homeowner, etc.
  • What actually is true:  I daydream all of the time – I daydream about being able to daydream professionally. There are some nights after work when I just daydream and play computer solitaire for hours. I jokingly call it “pre-writing”, because my daydreams are often working out sticky plot points, but I can call it what it is.
What do you think?

