Liebster Awards

My online friend Melanie has nominated me for a Liebster award!  I very much needed this baby this week.  “Liebster” translates as “dearest’ in German, and is a way to express appreciation and love for fellow bloggers. Melanie is hard at work on editing her steampunk WIP, and I highly recommend checking out her blog at http://becomingauthor.wordpress.com.

So, for this little blog-discovery trip, here are the rules:

1) Tell 11 things about yourself.
2) Answer 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you.
3) Post 11 questions for those who will be nominated by you.
4) Nominate 11 (I’ve chosen 5) bloggers who have less than 200 followers.
5) Get in contact with those 11 bloggers to inform them that you nominated them.

One of the things I enjoyed about this was reading about the others in my batch of Melanie’s nominees. I encourage you to explore all of these bloggers for yourself.

Step One: Tell y’all 11 things about me (the tricky part here is to use stuff I haven’t already made clear…)

  1. Since I used “y’all” in the above subhead, let’s get this one out of the way. I grew up in Ohio – that makes me a Yankee. But then I went to college in the south, and moved to Atlanta immediately after graduation. I’ve lived in the South for over half of my life, and all of my adult life. That, technically, makes me a “Damned Yankee” because I stayed. However, most southerners I know claim that I’ve naturalized. I say y’all, I like grits, and I can use “bless her heart” in every appropriate context. I wear my pearls to the right occasions, and I always take a hostess gift and write a thank you note. I drink sweet tea. I’m no southern belle, but it’s quite possible that I could pass…happy chipmunk face - skydiving and my face as a wind sock
  2. I can’t use electric can openers. If all I had were canned foods and electronic can opener, I would starve to death. (Good thing they still make the manual kind.)
  3. I have a few body parts that are double-jointed and I’m incredibly bendy. The yoga teacher has to say “Class, you do this pose. AK – you do this pose, because that other one is too easy for you.”
  4. Because I grew up in the country, we had a LOT of pets. Most of them were outdoors. But throughout my life I have had 5 rabbits, 3 dogs, a horse, and 25 cats. I could probably name them all if given about 10 minutes to remember them.
  5. Right now, I have a dog, Lingo, and 2 big fluffy cats, Pagan and Keesli Moloko (the proper spelling is кислий молоко, and is one way of saying “yogurt” in Russian. It directly translates as “sour milk”. It suits her.)
  6. I am an adrenaline junkie. It took me a while to come to terms with this, but it’s true. My favorite high is to  “urban mountain bike”. I ride my hybrid bike (named Rachel) in parts of town that a sane cyclist would avoid. I dodge traffic, homeless people, hop curbs and ride sidewalks when I have to. I try to go as fast as I possibly can, and I like to get that buzz of having to watch my front tire or crash.
  7. (Perhaps due to #6), I have 2 tattoos, am certainly getting a third, and am toying with the idea of a fourth. My two existing are both on my back. One is of an eagle (ascending, lifting off into the sky) and the other is of a rather intense rabbit. I drew the outline sketches for both of them, and they were supposed to match.  I gave the artists free rein on the shading, and it resulted in a huge difference between the images. The rabbit and the eagle are my personal yin yang and together are my totems.
  8. A is for AthenaI run-bike-run duathlons. My husband is an IronMan triathlete, and I got sick of sitting by the transition area with a cowbell. I qualified for nationals last year  but didn’t go. I’m NOT fast. I am the only chubby girl out there. Because women over 150 lbs can race “Athena” class, I was the only one in my division. (Men over 200 lbs. race “Clydesdale”.)  I’m content with the goddess imagery, and actually the 4th tattoo I’m toying with is an owl in honor of Athena.  The photo here is of my “A for Athena” on the back of my calf at my very first race.
  9. Other adrenaline highs I’ve sought: hang-gliding, skydiving, rock climbing, hiking, bellydancing, burlesque dance classes, acting… anything that stretches my limits, tests my fears.
  10. In spite of the fact that I never watch TV, I still consider myself a fan of some television shows (Buffy, Firefly, Dr. Who, Star Trek)
  11. I have a bizarre sense of humor that tends to stick out sideways from time to time.

Now for answering the questions that Melanie posed:

  1. If you could pick one character from any story ever (movie, book, fairy tale, etc), who would it be and why? This question confuses me. Am I picking one character for what? To write? To be? To marry? Just my favorite?   Sorry, I have a very specific brain, and those would be vastly different answers.   My favorite characters tend to be smart, opinionated women. The very first character I ever really identified with personally was Jo from Little Women.
  2. If you were going to write about the end of the world, how would it end and would anyone survive?  My current dystopia is about a population crash due to disease, and about a quarter of the population remains. I could probably create several additional apocalypses with far fewer survivors.
  3. If any animal in the world could be domesticated, what would you pick as a pet? A Unicorn-Pegasus. Or a gryphon.
  4. If you could be a supernatural being of any kind, what would you be and why?  I identify with were-beasts, that battle with the beast within, though I would certainly be feline.  I identify with nymphs, as well, because of the symbiosis with nature.  But if I got to pick, I’d go straight to Goddess. : )
  5. If you could relive any year of your life, which would it be and WHY?  None of them. I would not be the person I am today if I hadn’t had the fullness of the experiences that lead me here.
  6. If I were a broken record, would you let me play or stop me? Why?  Stop. Because I have problems with noise… not you.
  7. If you could only read one book over and over again for the rest of your life, which would it be and why?   This is an impossible and horrible question. Who would do such a thing?!
  8. If you were a mutant, what powers do you think you’d end up with? What powers would you prefer?  If I were an X-man style mutant, I often feel like my power would be invisibility or camouflage – just fade into the background. I’d prefer to be able to fly.
  9. If you could change the genre of your world, what genre would you pick and why? Real world or book world? I often feel like my real world genre is literary.  If I could change that, I’d go for comedy.   Book world is dystopian sci fi, I write multiple books so I can flit between genres. That way, even if I’m uncomfortable with one world, it can stay true to itself while I take a break.
  10. What, other than writing, would be a dream career for you?  Acting. Ideally, what I’d like to do is write by day, act by night. Stage (not camera), though I’d be willing to do voiceover as well. I would love to expand with creativity in all directions.
  11. If you lived in the Disney universe, would you be a vegan? Why or why not?  My gut reaction is that one would not want to eat one’s friends, but I’ve owned rabbits and eaten them. I’ve met the cows I’d later eat. I grew up in farm country – very close to the circle of life.   Honestly, if I lived in the Disney universe, I’d probably be an animal character anyway.

My turn to come up with 11 wacky questions:

  1. You’ve painted yourself into a corner (literal, figurative – you decide). How do you get out?
  2. It’s raining and you’ve forgotten your umbrella – do you get rained on, or do you walk in the rain?
  3. What frightens you the most?
  4. Lasagna, sushi, or cinnamon rolls?
  5. Who told you that you couldn’t? What would you like to say to them?
  6. Who told you that you could? Have you told them?
  7. What are you addicted to / hooked on? How do you get your fix?
  8. Plotter or pantser? (In life, if not fiction.)
  9. What was the most useful class subject in your academic career?
  10. Do you have a character who “talks to you”? If so, what does he or she say?
  11. Name your favorite classic book, and why.

And my 11 nominees:

  1. My coworker and sometime sanity-check, John Saye
  2. Fellow introvert H.A.L Wagner, with whom I talked sci fi at an extremely dancy wedding
  3. Semisanebeth at the semi-sane writer
  4. Anna, the artist and writer at Dreampunk Geek
  5. My hiking friend who tries to hide her writerliness behind readingness at Uncommon Nonsense
  6. Mel at Inked Out Loud
  7. Kate Cornell
  8. My foodie friend Lynn who calls herself a Country Tart
  9. Friend of a friend, Heather at G33kGiRLz
  10. Another friend of a friend, Katie at the Southern Scrawl
  11. and last but not least, my friend Nathan at Petunia’s projects, because I love it when she blogs.
6 thoughts on “Liebster Awards

  1. Pingback: Reblog Wednesday: Liebster Spin-offs! | Becoming Author

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award! « Allodoxophobia

  3. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award! « A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  4. Pingback: This is Not the Forbidden Forest (Geeks in the Woods) « A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  5. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  6. Pingback: Sweet Inner Peace Blog awards | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

What do you think?

