Love, Lust, Sex and Snark

sexy lady

Happy Valentine’s day!

Okay, I’m going to be honest. I don’t care about Valentine’s day one tiny little bit. I’m in love with my husband. We are happy together. We don’t need a holiday filled with overpriced flowers and hallmark cards and red and pink profusions to remind us to say as much to one another.

We’re going to go see Die Hard this weekend in honor of the holiday.  Because violence, swearing and Bruce Willis is about my opinion of it.

I do realize that it’s also obnoxious if I don’t recognize it. It makes me look clueless. So, here’s the plan. All of my scheduled tweets today will be snippets of poetry.

The poems will be either blatantly sexual, or super snarky.

I decided to skip the sappy poems because Valentine’s day usually just serves to make people feel like their lives are inadequate. It’s a keeping-up-with-the-Joneses day.  I think we have enough of that. Don’t you?

In case you miss the tweets and want to know what the poems are, here’s the list.

Sexy Poems:

Full Woman, Carnal Apple” by Pablo Neruda

Deeper” by Quentin Huff

Touch” by Octavio Paz

 

Snarky Poems:

You take my hand” by Margaret Atwood

True Love” by Wislawa Szymborska

Helen of Troy Does Countertop Dancing” by Margaret Atwood

“But for lust” Ruth Pitter

“Another Valentine” by Wendy Cope

 

Oh, and in case you’re wondering about the image. Remember the artist’s group where we had to depict “Ice”? This month’s assignment was “Red” and this collage card is my submission. On the back, there is a handwritten snippet of the Neruda poem linked above.

2 thoughts on “Love, Lust, Sex and Snark

What do you think?

