Finding Water

About eleven years ago, someone recommended the Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. There was a group with weekly meetings, and everyone would do the work together. My girlfriend and I bought small notebooks for Morning Pages and set about working on the projects involved.  I think we made it to week four. For many reasons, it was not right for either of us, not then.

I tried it again nine years ago, and made it to week 8. I got angry. I got angry because I had to face the fact that either I needed to stop listening to myself, or I had to turn my whole world upside down. I set it aside, and managed to turn my world upside down about 6 months later anyway.

Once the upheaval was over, the roots exposed, and the sky filled with damp earth, I was able to see.  I was able to try again. In 2005, I finished all twelve weeks of  The Artist’s Way, and enjoyed it so much, I went right out and got Walking in This World, the next three month process in the series. I don’t know why I stopped after that, but I did.  I moved on to Writing Down the Bones, then, I think. And later, Yoga and the Quest for the True Self as well as Journey from the Center to the Page.  

I still kept journals, but not as regularly as Morning Pages, and I let Artist Dates slip away completely.  Last Saturday, I began again. Last Saturday, February 9, 2013, I started the 12-week process of Finding Water. I’ve been writing my morning pages since then. I’ve read the first chapter, and I feel committed and supported and ready. I’ve set aside Saturday mornings as time for reflection on the previous week and reading the new chapter for the week ahead.

It’s time.

I’m ready to get back into the grounding habit of journalling each morning.  My newest mission statement is about tuning in and listening, and that’s the best tool I have for it. My 2013 goal includes connection and generativity, both feelings fostered by the practice.

This post isn’t meant to be anything more than a statement. This is what I’m doing. It might lead me somewhere completely new and different. We’ll see where I end up in 3 months’ time.

6 thoughts on “Finding Water

  1. Pingback: With a Little Help From My Friends | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  2. Pingback: Writing, Reading, Researching: What I’m Doing Now | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  3. Pingback: Resolution reminder | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  4. Pingback: Gotta Wanna Oughta | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  5. Pingback: On the Shelf: Julia Cameron | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  6. Pingback: Vein of Gold | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

What do you think?

