I want to go to WisCon

I’m bummed that WisCon is scheduled so closely on the heels of my honeymoon. I will have to wait until 2014 to visit Madison, Wisconsin.

I’m not being facetious. I would  love to attend the world’s leading feminist science fiction convention.

I don’t like to talk politics on my blog. In fact, I’ve only done it once.   I prefer not to discuss these things on Facebook or Twitter, either. There are a few random conversations I will join. Thoughts and ideas that I’ll throw out there into the internet smorgasbord.  But the one thing you might hear me mention a tad more often than anything else is feminism.

Brett doesn’t like “isms” so he rolls his eyes a little every time I say the word. I think the word “feminist” gets misused and misunderstood so much that it has lost its meaning almost as much as the central tenants have shifted more toward overall gender equality.  Regardless of how you label things, when I tell him my personal feminist beliefs, he agrees with me.

From my rants on strong female characters and gender in sci-fi, you probably already know to expect a certain amount of this in my writing.

 

Feminism in my Writing

The protagonist in Salvaged is female.  She might even be described as “strong”, but I don’t usually sum her up that way. I see her as a survivor, as more than a little broken, and as a person who just wants to heal her wounds.  She struggles with trust issues, and she faces the problems present in her world.

Interestingly, I noticed upon my 6th rewrite that I actually created problems that amplify and call out stuff in our world – women as sexual objects instead of as whole beings, validation only through relationship to men, violence against women, and the challenges she faces in acting on her own behalf in this world.

This was not intentional. It just happened.  I’m a woman. In the world. I interact with people. I have opinions. Clearly those are going to appear in my work.

As I embark on my re-read, I think I might watch for this a little more closely, and even see if I can hone my own feelings on these matters in the process.

I try not to see my work in the eyes of a critical reviewer – such as someone at WisCon might dissect a work of fiction. It’s too hard to separate myself from the narrative to dig into it that way.  All I can do is make sure my heart and mind are made up, and I’ve told the story that I need to tell.

What do you think?

