The Sunshine Award

The prestigious Sunshine Award

My day yesterday was anything but sunny, so I’m delighted to accept the Sunshine Award from my friend Jon Herrera.  What is the sunshine award?

The Sunshine Award is an award given by bloggers to other bloggers. The recipients of the Sunshine Award are “bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.” The way the award works is this: thank the person who gave you the award, and link back to them. Then answer questions about yourself. Finally, select up to 10 of your favorite bloggers, link their blogs to your post, and let them know they have been awarded the Sunshine Award!

I’m really honored that Jon chose me for this, because I enjoy his blog.

What inspired you to start blogging?

I started blogging in 2005. Before that, I would copy and paste the same funny stories into emails and send them to friends and family at random intervals. It occurred to me it was way easier just to post them online and send links instead.

I started my SEO blog because SEO is a tricky world and you have to make your stand and explain your philosophy. I needed a place to do that.

I started this blog because all of the “before you query an agent, you need to have…” lists said I had to have a web presence.

I’ve since combined the old 2005 blog into this one so this is my primary spouting-place.

How did you come up with the name of your blog?

Um. It’s my name.

What is your favorite blog that you like to read?

My favorite blogs to read are all over the place. I like the super personal chatty ones, I like the really heartfelt amazing ones. I like the famous ones like Cake Wrecks and The Bloggess. Mostly, I just like it where they are real people being themselves in new and creative ways.

Tell about your dream job.

I think I’d want to write fiction full time, but then act as a way to have social interaction, while still keeping a toe in SEO consulting and speaking at odd times.

Is your glass half full or half empty?

Most of the time it’s half-full. I’m a Pollyanna of an optimist about 75% of the time. Sometimes, I sink down into accurate “the glass contains half of the amount of it’s potential volume of water” realism, but the glass is never half empty for me.

If you could go anywhere for a week’s vacation, where would you go?

Machu Picchu. Or skiing in Chile. Or Australia. Or Moscow. Or Morrocco. A bike tour of France? The UK. Tibet. Nepal. Antarctica. A cabin in the woods.  A safari?  The moon. An M-class planet somewhere across the galaxy. Endor.  Pern.  Middle Earth.

Um. What’s my budget?

What food can you absolutely not eat?

Gluten.

Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

Dark.

How much time do you spend blogging?

About 3 hours a week, when I do it right.

Do you watch TV – if so, what are some of your favorite shows?

I don’t watch TV. I used to like Buffy and Firefly. I can be wrangled into watching Dr. Who.

 

Now I get to nominate someone sunny in return!

8 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award

  1. Thank you so much! I am touched. And I will post this award as soon as I can.Am I not allowed to nominate you again? You would have been my first choice, just so you know. 🙂

    • Ha. Yeah, my blog is so intensely named. 😛

      I still can’t believe I did that. I have some of them around here somewhere, I should add them to the 2004 and 2005 archives.

  2. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

What do you think?

