It’s a Second Job, Not a Hobby

The topic for this post came about after talking with some of my writer friends about the work we do after-hours. Many of us are in the same boat, we work all day, then we come home and write.  It also came about because we’re goal-setting at the office for 2013, and I’m not sure what to put in my self-development category.

My long-long term goal is to not have to do SEO anymore professionally. I want to get to a financially stable enough place that I can write full time, and what hit-and-miss market-dependent income I make that way will be supplemental for the household.  My long-term plan is to be a writer.

The only way to make this career shift happen is to work both jobs in tandem for a while, and to take the writing portion as seriously as I could consulting work or other moonlighting gigs I’d take on to improve my experience.

The work of an author  includes writing and revising, yes, but it also includes platform-building and marketing. It includes the business side – query letters and synopses. It includes reading. I have to do all of these things – to a greater or lesser degree – while I’m writing and revising.   This means setting aside time for this work that is just as important as getting up and going to my day job.

Perhaps it is even more important, since writing keeps me sane. Since I feel more wholly myself when I’m writing than I do when I’m not.

This is a post about perspective, and about “reframing” the idea of the work I’m doing every evening after I get home from the office.  It’s not a silly past time. It’s not a hobby. It’s not something I’m going to dabble in and forget about. This is career planning, and it’s part of who I am. It’s a major part of who I’m becoming.

6 thoughts on “It’s a Second Job, Not a Hobby

  1. My thoughts exactly. I’ve come to this realization as I close in on the finish of my novel. I do not have free time anymore. Any time not spent at work or with the family is spent writing or in support of writing.

    If I hadn’t just blogged a post of my own I would make this my first reblog.

    In fact, come Wednesday this will be my first reblog.

  2. Reblogged this on Christopher Lee Deards and commented:
    Since I put my mind to the task of writing the story that’s inhabited my mind for over ten years, the process has gained momentum, and for me it has become a second job that I squeeze into the moments between the rest of my life.
    A.K. Anderson encapsulates almost everything I have to say.

  3. Pingback: Week 5: What Caught My Senses This Week | Keep Calm and Write On

  4. Pingback: The Next Big Thing | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

What do you think?

