I’m Cooler In My Brain [COMIC]

As many of you know, I spent a week or so in Ohio on vacation. I also attended my 20th year High School Reunion  while I was up there, and hung out and reconnected with friends.

It was my chance to share my world with the stepson and husband. I wanted to show them the state park that I grew up with as my backyard. I wanted them to meet my friends and see the world I lived in for the first 20 or so years of my life. Needless to say I had a lot of idea and plans about how things would go.

What I hadn’t counted on? Record levels of rain and flooding:

scan0002

The lake was flooded even thought the dam gates were open wide. The beach sand was covered and the water lapped on the grass above the shore line.  The shores I had wanted to explore were under feet of water.

scan0003

I also hadn’t anticipated that the stepson is used to a very different form of vacationing. He is used to trips that are jam-packed of activities and plans, that are planned around his joy and amusement, and that always take his entertainment into account.  This was a family visit. I had intentionally left it free of plans.  While it was still raining early in the trip, he told us “This vacation is the most boring thing ever.”

I don’t mind being boring. Boredom ignites the imagination, and makes us more comfortable with ourselves. But maybe that’s just because I’m a huge introvert and there are always more books to read.

Visiting my oldest dearest friends went exactly as I had envisioned it, so no comics for them. I have no dashed hopes about the kiddo enjoying my friends’ two kids – they got along swimmingly.  I had no disappointments in my interactions with my besties from way way way back.

Then, there was the High School Reunion.  I was determined to do some Geek Recovery.  I’m not sure that panned out….

scan0004

My conclusion? I’m way cooler in my brain than I am in real life.

What do you think?

