Giving Myself A Deadline

I tweeted this on August 1st, but I am going to re-state it here officially, for the longer-than 140 character record. I’m giving myself a deadline.

My goal is to get draft 9 revisions done and get this book marked “FINISHED” before the end of August. In fact, I intend to send out a round of agent queries by August 31, 2013.

I feel like this latest revision is more about fleshing out and filling in the ideas that may have been left sparse in the last rewrite. I’m on chapter 5, and I’ve added three thousand words thus far. (That’s a good thing. I write action and dialogue and have to add details as I go, and I have about 10K words’ worth of wiggle room right now.)

I’m using the latest beta reader feedback to tweak typos and flesh out skimpy descriptions. I’m making sure character continuity is there from Uncounted and back into Salvaged.  I feel like it’s ready. The book finally feels done to me. It finally lives up to all of the expectations I have for it.

It’s time.

6 thoughts on “Giving Myself A Deadline

  1. Pingback: Long term goals | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  2. Pingback: This is Exhaustion, Not Laziness | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

  3. Pingback: Deadline…. Missed. | A.K. Anderson | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

What do you think?

