On the Shelf: Malcolm Gladwell

This one is a little odd for me. I don’t usually write On the Shelf posts about non-fiction writers!

English: Malcolm Gladwell speaks at PopTech! 2...

English: Malcolm Gladwell speaks at PopTech! 2008 conference. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

How I Found Him:

I heard good things about Blink, and I’m naturally curious. When I got my hands on it, I was willing to give it a shot.  I’ve since devoured every book he puts out!

I find myself referring back to his work in regular conversation, and I frequently recommend his books.

Why I Love Reading His Work:

I really enjoy his tone and voice. I love that he can write about non-fiction topics, including research data, and it’s never boring. It never feels stuffy.

Gladwell’s books are like having long, fascinating conversations with a really smart friend.

What I Learn About Writing From Reading His Work: 

Making words approachable and readable doesn’t mean dumbing down the topic or the information. I actually learn a lot of this from the journalists at my office, as well. But it’s interesting what applies to fiction and non-fiction both.

Speaking plainly will carry you far, my friend.  Speaking plainly for 10,000 hours will make you an outlier!

What do you think?

