Instant Gratification (Patience, Grasshopper)

I’m not a patient person.   I am almost pathologically goal-oriented.

Matryoshka Nesting Dolls

My fixation on achieving a goal is the single most effective way for me to short-circuit my needs for instant gratification.  The promise of a payoff from a matryoshka doll set of plans within plans within dreams that coalesce in 2020 is enough to keep me from splurging on a haircut and a bottle of $30 shampoo…. most of the time.

I’ve learned the art and eventual value of perseverance and diligence.  Endurance running, cycling, hiking, writing a novel, querying. These are the efforts and results of patience.

That being said, I don’t think I’m naturally a patient person. At all.  It is a learned skill, rather than a born-in personality characteristic.  The goal-oriented thing is more of a hard-coded personality trait. I leverage the natural one to encourage aspects of the skill I’ve yet to master.

I’m mulling about all of this, because I’m seeing the signs in myself of goal-self-sabotage. I can see the resolve toward 2020 goals cracking a little around the edges.

I really just want to go shopping this weekend.

My inner princess wants some goddamned instant gratification.

What you want and what you need aren't always ...

 (Photo credit: deeplifequotes)

She wants that $60 haircut and a trip into the black hole that is Ulta that always costs $100 or more to leave.  My little instant gratification monster wants a steak dinner and a real date.  She wants to go to the fabric store and make a new skirt.  She wants to get a tattoo and to go ziplining in the mountains (though those last two smack of the voice of Pink-Tulle Princess’s adrenaline-junkie twin sister, the Warrior Princess).   Even my inner Ms. Practical says I need to fix the dishwasher and stop scrimping and saving and being so cheap by washing everything by hand.

What’s new this time around is that I can see it coming.

Usually, I scrimp and save and self-deny for months only to dip into that savings on a resentful and impulsive splurge-spree.  I usually feel a good bit of “I deserve this” when I do it, and the remorse doesn’t come up until I see that I’m further behind on my goal. That I’ll have to tighten the belt even more next paycheck to make up for this folly.

This time, I can make a plan. I will not leave the house with my wallet until I have that plan, either.  That busted water pipe I saw yesterday on the front sidewalk will have to be part of the plan, I’m afraid.

I’m going to give the Princess Committee a budget and the car keys. They can haggle amongst themselves how to spend it.

2 thoughts on “Instant Gratification (Patience, Grasshopper)

  1. Oh, this all sounds so, so familiar. I feel like you’ve just taken a walk through my head. 🙂 My Princess Committee just had to spring for new tires, and my hair is lookin’ pretty shaggy, and now that we’re nearing Christmas, ALL THE THINGS ARE SO SHINY.

What do you think?

