White-rabbiting

Rushes in, glances at watch, looks around the room.

Whew. Sorry I’m late.

I’m focusing so much on other stuff this weekend, I’ve completely forgotten to blog. Usually by now, I’ve got posts scheduled well through Thursday, and I’m mulling the hardest two days: the week’s 140 characters and the cartoon on Saturday.

What am I focusing on, you ask?

Writing the Words

Well, NaNoWriMo, for one thing.  I’m a little over 33K words into the story, and I’ve just finished the main arc. Now, I have to go weave in subplots and juicy sensory details, which is where my pace tends to slow down.  I’m a little intimidated by having to start again at the very beginning. I do feel like I have a more solid grounding in my characters and world, so this pass will be richer for it.

This month is the first time I’ve been making an effort to write something brand new – as opposed to rewriting and editing existing pieces – and I notice that I’m calmer, happier and saner for it. I need to add in a “creating something new” aspect to my daily life, even beyond November. It really seems to settle my feathers.

Wrapping Width 

My Artist Date this weekend is also taking up a lot of my brainspace.  I’m trying another skirt pattern, using fabric I had in the attic. The fabric is a whole lot of raw canvas, which I think is a heavy, meaty enough material to work as a winter wrap skirt.

The problem is that it’s not dyed, and the natural creamy beige of it is not in my winter wardrobe color scheme. I’m going to try to dye it, possibly dip dyeing and probably multiple colors.  Because it’s fabric, I can’t resist painting it, either, so that’s also in the plan.   Obviously, this project is going to take more than a few hours. So far it’s cost me a total of $10 for the dye, so there’s an upside.

I’ve downloaded a free pdf of a pattern. It is a size medium, and measurements netted out that it would not work for me at the existing size. Last night was spent adjusting the pattern and creating new pattern pieces in order to have one that was my size.  I’m kind of amazed that I feel confident enough with my understanding of basic patterns to try to adjust one for my own body shape.

I think it has to do with that weird exercise in 6th grade where we had to take xeroxed paper patterns and glue or tape them into 3D shapes. I was always good at that. My spacial reasoning and 2D to 3D conversion brain parts work fairly well – I just don’t know whether I’ve used them very much in my adult life.  Always fun to get new neurons firing.

Watching Wellness

The other thing I’ve been doing this week is trying to drink lots of water, get plenty of sleep, and eat right. I’m shifting to a standing desk at the office.  This wellness kick is holistic. I’m also making sure I journal daily, and walk a lot.

The motivation for this one is different than any of the others I’ve done before. I’m doing it because certain things feel better than others, rather than I “should” do this or that.  It’s more about getting quiet and listening to what my body really needs and wants.

I’ve also been staying off of most forms of social media, and spending more time by myself. This feels like I’m rerouting my energy in a good way. Instead of sprinkling my attention all over the place, I’m sort of honing and focusing it in on my own health and well-being.

Of course, what this looks like to everyone around me is just cave-time and lots of trips to the ladies’ room.

What do you think?

