What’s Happening?

Yes, I am aware that I’m off schedule. That I’m barely blogging at all, and when I do, it’s at odd hours, about odd topics.  Every blog feels like a blurt that’s been scratched onto a post-it note and tacked to the internet tree. I might gently suggest that you get used to that.

The answer to the question “What’s happening?” is simple. I’m re-prioritizing.  

My reason for creating this blog was because literary agents online suggest that authors have an internet home besides Twitter or Facebook. Done.

They recommend that people have a way of contacting you via email. Contact form. Check.  (Of course with Google + mapping to gmail, that’s even easier now.)

I wanted my blog or Twitter to appear on page one of Google for my author name.  Check.

I started blogging every day when I took myself on as an internet marketing client. Setting a regular blog schedule is the first bit of advice you give anyone who wants to run a successful blog. Readers want to know what they’ll get and when they will get it – that’s how you get return visitors.   Return visitors and followers are key to building the nebulous “author platform” so many people talk about but seldom define.

My internet marketer and my author-client had a meeting. This blog thing, it’s not working anymore.  

It met several of the goals it was supposed to. I have a home, a contact form, consistent SEO placement for my name. (Take THAT Anderson, Alaska!)  

If I reduce, rearrange or otherwise fiddle with my posting schedule, none of those things will go away. Those check-boxes will stay checked.

As far as return visitors and followers? Not so many. And that’s okay. I’m not really offering much here anyway to draw in regular visits.  The daily schedule posting at optimal hours is sometimes hard to keep up with. It can be stressful, even difficult.  It takes away from the valuable writing time when I could be working on stories, novels or comics.

One reason why I review my goals and how I’m working toward them is to be able to identify stuff like this: Efforts that don’t serve a purpose anymore.  Work I can do away with that won’t impact my long-term goals.

I never set out to be a blogger. I set out to be an author.

So. I have not really figured out what I’m going to do with this blog from here. Probably tack post-it notes to trees for a while. Maybe post shout-outs to people, news updates (if there are any), links to stuff I’ve done, or even pieces of work as I can.

I’ll let you know when I know.

One thought on “What’s Happening?

  1. Sounds like a good plan. Blogging has been a similar experience for me, too. I think you’re very wise to be willing to reevaluate and figure out what adds value to your life and writing career. Whatever you post, I’ll look forward to it. Best wishes! 🙂

What do you think?

