Sparking creativity

Ways I push myself to create: Getting out of my head, as this post talks about, is one of the ways (walking, hiking, biking, running, exploring). I also like art work and challenges that aren’t my chosen craft (drawing, cartooning, singing, acting, dancing, painting, sewing, etc). And I let myself be a beginner so I can be gentle with my mistakes and lessons learned.

artcollisions

If you were hoping for this blog post to be about inhabiting liminal spaces, I must apologize up front. That post seems to be inaccessible to me. I tried writing it four times and it wouldn’t cohere. Oh, the irony.

So, I’m going to talk about creativity because Glendon Mellow (aka flyingtrilobite on Twitter) got me thinking about it. I have always been amused to hear writers when they say people ask them where they get their ideas. I think if you sit around and watch tv all day, you might have a hard time coming up with ideas, but if you live life, it seems to me ideas should be easy to come by.

So, what does that mean? For me, I know that I learn by talking. Some of my best inspirations have come from conversations I’ve had with people. If I’m looking for a creative spark, I…

View original post 544 more words

What do you think?

