One Quest Leads to Another – Q12015 Goals

I’ve enjoyed the travels along #Quest2015 this month, though I’ve still got two prompts left to answer (I’ll get back to those later this week). The prompts and the amazing community helped me to understand and coalesce my thoughts around the year to come, and around my goals.

In the grand scheme of things, the three long-term, big picture goals that I set last year are the same as the long-term, big-picture goals that I’ve got this year. I haven’t become a traditionally published author yet. We haven’t moved into a bigger house with a dedicated space for me to write yet. I still haven’t reached my physical goals.

There are some things that I love about my life and that I think I’m doing exactly right. Those things, I’m making sure are built into the longer arc of 2015: Monthly woods-time, time devoted to spiritual work, creative play (like sewing and photography).

I’m not changing direction. I’m not even changing focus.

The other thing I learned from this Quest was that I already have a pretty good sense of direction. When I focused on the year ahead, I spotted a few turning points along the way. I have a feeling that by the end of this year, I won’t recognize the new life I’ve built. Call it a hunch.  To that end, for the first time in at least a decade, I’m not making annual goals.

I’m going to have to tackle 2015 quarterly.   I’m going to have to check in and reset and revise my set of goals every three months to keep up with the rate of change.

Here are some of my goals for January – March, 2015:

  • Embrace Teaching by submitting to conferences as a speaker, and figuring out that job description.
  • Foster deep 1-on-1 connections instead of shallow social media connections. In January, this includes a family trip to Williamsburg along with one of my oldest, dearest friends.
  • Monthly woods-time (I’d love to finish the Georgia miles of the Appalachian Trail this year)
  • Weekly literary agent queries, and monthly short fiction submissions.
  • My long piece of writing work this quarter will be a collaborative script project (image is from that project), as well as continued revisions on some archetype work I started last fall.

Naturally, there’s more to it than that. But I like to have an air of mystery….

image from gravymedia.com

5 thoughts on “One Quest Leads to Another – Q12015 Goals

  1. Quarterly goals. I can do that. I wish we could meet in the woods. I am teaching in Charlotte, NC in April….how far away from there are you? I really admire your elegant pace with the prompts. I detoured in to collage work on the last two, but writing about them is calling me. Are you familiar with the International Women’s Writing Guild? I think they are still accepting applications to teach for their 2015 conference. If not this year, another. IWWG is a wonderful supportive group of women writers. Many blessings on your new year, S

    • I live in Atlanta, so I’m only 3.5 hours away from Charlotte by car. How long are you there?

      I have not heard of the IWWG… but I do believe you’ve just sent me tumbling down a rabbit hole!

What do you think?

