A Wanderer’s Watercolors

img_9650This weekend, I went to Savannah to spend a day to two with my husband. Brett stayed behind at the conference, and I’ve headed home for some alone time (and work tomorrow). While he was learning EMS-educator stuff yesterday, I spent the afternoon on the balcony of our room painting.

The night before, we had tried to stretch out in separate double beds – enjoying the leg room for a change.  It took me about one minute to realize that separate beds were not doing it for me. “Nope!” I said out loud, and got out of my bed and into Brett’s.

The short watercolor book I made him the next day was inspired by that moment.

img_9651

“I travel far away when I am asleep…”

img_9652

“It feels like I am a very small adrift in the sea.”

img_9653

“Pagan tries to help me stay put”

img_9654

“But she is very small. Too small.”

img_9655

“Sometimes I have nightmares.”

img_9656

“But when you sleep beside me, it’s like MAGIC. I know where I belong.”

img_9657

“Even just touching you with one little toe does the trick!”

(We refer to this as “the love toe.”)

img_9658

“I don’t float away so far on my own.”

img_9659

“And no matter how dark the night, I can always find my way home.”

