On Verbing

I make things for the sake of making them.

I don’t make them to have a thing at the end – it’s not about the noun result. It’s about the joy of the creative process. What happens to the noun after it becomes is not the point.

This untangles perfectionism. It unknots the webs of angst around the final product and its potential fate.

Will I query this novel? I am writing, not selling. The joy of writing and the discovery of new ways of solving literary problems is enough right now.

I might query when it is time for that verb. It’s not time yet.

Just as I couldn’t paint my tiny clay campfire tea light holder until it was shaped, and dried, and baked.
tiny clay tea light campfire

Will I make you one? No. Probably not.

Just as I will not write a story that isn’t steeped in my soul.

You see, if I try to mass produce a thing I make, it becomes a noun. The noun as a gift or item for sale then matters. If I’m writing with the intention of it being a bestseller, then I have lost the point of writing at all.

Creative verbing has only the foggiest of objects to its sentence.

One of my favorite lines in The Ukulele Anthem is “stop pretending art is hard.

Verbing is easy. Verbing well takes practice and dedication. And it takes a commitment to a lot more Verbing. Art – as a verb – is a natural state of being.

The hard part is giving up attachment to the noun.

One thought on “On Verbing

  1. Pingback: Life Well-Alive | Alicia K. Anderson

What do you think?

