For Christmas this year, I got a 3D printing pen. Last weekend, I made a 5″ tall sculpture with the 3d pen and sculpey. It’s a little person, sitting in a meditative position. There is a sculpey brain, heart and intuitive swirl inside the ABS plastic frame.

First, I sketched the outline on paper, and traced that. Next time, I would not do the top of the torso and the arms and legs all at the same time.

2d-drawing-in-plastic

Then, I used the template to make cross-pieces that would be the right size to bulk out the frame.

using-template-for-cross-pieces

Then, using the 3D printing pen as a “glue gun,” I fit all the pieces together, and added structure until it would sit up on its own.

it-sits-up

With a little more structure, I inserted the pre-made scupley pieces. Then I spent a few hours “doodling” to get the whole thing to look right.

decisions-3d-printing-pen-and-sculpey-art

For me, the piece asks “How do you make decisions?”

How Do You Make Decisions?

One thought on “How Do You Make Decisions?

What do you think?

